Cocooned


Dear Reader,

This poem is the follow up on my reply to a comment about a previous poem called “I Find Poems.”  In my reply I said that I would post another poem which was written during a similar period and which echoed the previous poem.  Here is “Cocooned”.

 

Cocooned
within this tree I’ve climbed
I am writing a poem
– it emerges as caterpillars do.
 
I tear the wings
from my womb-wet butterfly
to see what will happen
– it writhes on my palm
like a worm.
 
I hang it on a branch
– a bribe for birds I call brothers.
I am auspicious: EAT!  I say,
A BUTTERFLY IS ONLY A WORM WITH WINGS!
– they call me traitor.
 
I console myself
and imagine theatres
standing in ovation
as I emerge to amaze them
with my victim.
 
…I erupt from my chrysalis
like a boil:
Writhing:           Wingless:
a hunchbacked insect.
 

Leave a Reply

