Christian Sex


I find it amusing to read the uninformed views that some social commentators and pundits have about the relationship between sex and Christianity. Recently I read a short article in which Paul Verhoeven, director of the Basic Instinct series and other bombs like Showgirls, comments on the Christian attitude toward sex.

"Anything that is erotic has been banned in the United States,"

said the Dutch native. "Look at the people at the top (of the government).

We are living under a government

that is constantly hammering out Christian values.

And Christianity and sex have never been good friends."

 

He may comment as much as he wishes about government but it would be helpful if he would take the time to inform himself on matters he knows little about, like the Christian view on sex.  For his information and his edification, which, in light of his productions, is sparse, I refer him to The Song of Songs, a composition attributed to King Solomon; the title implying that it is "the greatest of songs".  And yes…this is found in the Old Testament, but it is also part of the Christian Canon.

 

LOVER

I have come into my garden, my

sister, my bride;

I have gathered my myrrh with my spice.

I have eaten my honeycomb and my

honey;

I have drunk my wine and my milk.

FRIENDS

Eat, O friends, and drink;

drink your fill, O lovers.

BELOVED

I slept but my heart was awake;

Listen!  My lover is knocking:

"Open to me, my sister, my darling,

my dove, my flawless one.

My head is drenched with dew,

my hair with the dampness of the

night."

I have taken off my robe –

must I put it on again?

I have washed my feet –

must I soil them again?

My lover thrust his hand through the

latch-opening;

my heart began to pound for him.

I arose to open for my lover,

and my hands dripped with myrrh,

my fingers with flowing myrrh,

on the handles of the lock.

I opened for my lover…

Chapter 5:1-6

 

Paul, are you hearing this?  Produce and direct a movie in which Christian love and sex are truly exemplified.  Forget Showgirls and Basic Instinct, they display immature, dysfunctional 'sexual play'.  Check out 'Sheet Music' by Kevin Leman.  And while you're at it, create a masterpiece…produce the Song of Songs.  No…on second thought I'll invite someone else, like Franco Zeffirelli.

6 thoughts on “Christian Sex

  1. Hey, over on Pegspot the other day she was searching for a word worthy of replacing the unpleasant ‘discharge’ in vaginal discharge. How about ‘flowing myrrh’ instead. It sure works for me.

  2. I was tickled by your comment. Thought it was a good idea. I’ll check out Peg’s post. 🙂 I think “myrrh” is a lot better than some of the expletives I’ve heard.

    Giovanni

  3. My lover thrust his hand through the

    latch-opening;

    my heart began to pound for him.

    I arose to open for my lover,

    and my hands dripped with myrrh,

    my fingers with flowing myrrh,

    on the handles of the lock.

    I opened for my lover…

    Wow. That’s some steamy imagery there, Your Highness!

    I admit, “Christian sex” conjures up in my mind a utilitarian missionary picture without much spice. If Paul makes a movie, I’d go see it.

  4. When I consider that Solomon had over a thousand concubines, I can imagine that he was a pretty busy man. 🙂 The picture of the sex-starved, shriveled housewife overseen by a bearded patriarch has always been a distortion of the interaction between a husband and wife. The true picture, as it was always intended, is this ‘juicy’, passionate, lover’s embrace.

  5. In 10 years the people of the Netherlands will be living under Sharia, and they are still babbling on about Christian fundamentalism in the US? And what is he talking about banned? Just because his movies suck and no watches them doesn’t mean they are banned.

  6. Yes, Christians can have hot sex and my husband and I are proof! We saved our virginity for each other and here we are 15+ years later and the sex is BETTER than ever, Praise God!!

Leave a Reply

