The Mercy of Strangers


First50Words has a great site that prompts you to write the first fifty words of a story.  Here is one of mine.

She spoke three words I did not understand: Vienna, Philadelphia, Rio Blanco – my tendrils wrapped round her battered body; my attempts to feed her, vomited along a blackened chin.  Lured by her distress call to this magnetic orb of desolation I too am now a prisoner. 

Ten suns it takes my translater to spit back her final words: "…and I had to choose this assignment."

I will absorb her body and read the stories she has stored there.  And I will wait for another, in a stronger ship, to absorb and rescue the two of us.

Leave a Reply

